top of page

Finding a Safe Place.

Safe? What does that word really mean? According to dictonary.com it means "secure from liability to harm, injury, danger, or risk". This word, and its definition, has been running through my mind like crazy the last few days. (That sounded like lyrics to a song... ha!) I've asked myself questions like, "Brittané, do you feel safe? Do you have a safe place?" And the answer to those questions are, “I’m not sure” and “I don’t think so”.

Security is so important to me and to lost people, even if they don’t want to admit it. If you don't feel safe and secure, chances are your life will show it. Recently, I've been reading a book by Robin Weidner called “Secure in Heart: Overcoming Insecurity in a Woman's Life.” I absolutely hate reading, but somehow this book has captivated me past my dislike. When this book was first suggested to me, my internal thought was "Ugh, I guess I'll start it, but Lord knows I won't finish it...". Followed by my second thought which was "Whoa, I’m the least bit insecure... I don't need this book. I'll just read it to help my friends out". That second thought was so full of insecurity! And now, I can't put the book down. I love it. It has helped me see so many of my hidden insecurities, reminding me of past insecurities and revealed new ones.

You might be thinking "Isn't that defeating the purpose?". Yes. It is for now. I'm still in the first few chapters. Even though its brought these things out, it has helped me to understand WHY I'm insecure. For the longest time, I could never figure out why I was feeling the way I was feeling. Without giving too much away, the book talks about women being insecure, because we were made to be totally secure and to feel cherished, but there are forces working against that. We are constantly told lies that we aren't good enough. These forces are bent on making us feel out of place and insecure.

There are tools for us to fight these lies and feelings. I'll give you a couple of them.

1.) Go buy the book Secure in Heart, and actually read it. (Note to self: I'm totally preaching to the choir!) WARNING: It is a religious book, but I believe it can help even if you're not into religion or spirituality.

2.) Recognize what makes you feel insecure. Write those things down. We cannot heal if we don’t put it out there in search for healing.

3.) Find a source that helps you fight these battles against insecurity. For me, it’s the Bible and spiritual friends. My favorite scripture, that tells me how to battle lies and insecurity, is in Ephesians 6:11-18. It's something I will be referencing everyday from now on!

I'm sure there are plenty of other tools to fight insecurity, and many self help books, but none of these will work unless you are REALLY searching for help despite the pain and discomfort you WILL experience.

With all of that being said, I stick by my comment of being unsure of feeling secure or having a safe place, but now I know WHY I don't feel secure and HOW I can fight to find a safe place.

My question to you is are you willing to fight to be truly secure? If so, lets find our safe places together! What are you going to do?

Brightest Regards,

Brittané

xoxo

"The ache for home lives in all of us, the safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned."

Maya Angelou

bottom of page